Sarah J. Maas Biography | Life and Works: Sarah J. Maas is a best-selling American fantasy novelist, known for her “Throne of Glass” series and “A Court of Thorns and Roses” series. She was born on March 5, 1986 in New York and grew up in a household that encouraged reading and storytelling, which developed her love for fantasy and science fiction at a young age. Sarah J. Maas began writing stories as a child and continued to pursue writing as a hobby throughout her adolescence and early adulthood.

Maas published her first novel, “Throne of Glass,” in 2012. The book was an instant success, garnering a large following and critical acclaim. It was followed by several sequels, which continued the story of the main character, Celaena Sardothien, and expanded upon the world of the series. The “Throne of Glass” series has since been translated into multiple languages and adapted into a graphic novel.

In 2015, Maas published the first book in her “A Court of Thorns and Roses” series, which is a retelling of the classic fairy tale “Beauty and the Beast.” The series has also been widely successful, with multiple sequels and spin-off novels. In addition to her work as a novelist, Maas is also active in the writing community, hosting writing workshops and giving talks about the writing process. She is known for her strong online presence and her commitment to engaging with her readers.

Sarah J. Maas Biography | Life and Works
Sarah J. Maas Biography | Life and Works

Personal Life

Sarah J. Maas was born in New York City on March 5, 1986. She grew up in Manhattan. As a child, she enjoyed creating stories inspired by popular myths and tales. In her youth, she used to write Sailor Moon fanfiction. Maas graduated magna cum laude in 2008 from Hamilton College, Clinton, New York. She also majored in creative writing and minored in religious studies at this college. In 2010, Maas married her husband Josh. She currently resides in Pennsylvania with her family. In addition to writing, Maas is also an avid traveler and has visited countries such as France, Italy, and Japan.


Maas started writing her debut novel Throne of Glass when she was 16. After completing several chapters of the story, then titled Queen of Glass, she posted them on It was one of the popular stories on that site. The story was removed from the site when Maas decided to publish the novel. In 2008, she started sending the story to agents before signing with The Laura Dial Literary Agency in 2009. Bloomsbury purchased Throne of Glass in March 2010. They purchased two additional books in the series. Throne of Glass series is available in 15 countries and 35 languages. Crown of Midnight, the second book of the series was a New York Times bestseller for the young adult genre. In 2018, the final book of the series, Kingdom of Ash was released. Her other two fantasy series are A Court of Thorns and Roses and Crescent City.

Writing Style and Influences

Maas opened up in an interview with Writers & Artists and told them classical music and movie scores are her inspiration. She continued to say that Garth Nix’s Sabriel and Robin McKinley’s The Hero and the Crown began her love for reading and writing fantasy. Some of the best aspects of her writings are her storytelling, character development, strong world-building, and morally grey characters. It is the sense of discovery that thrills her the most.

Sarah J. Maas Biography | Life and Works
Sarah J. Maas Biography | Life and Works

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

Celaena is an assassin. She is summoned to the castle of land where the king rules with an iron hand. Celaena is not here to kill but win her liberty. If she can defeat twenty-three killers, warriors, and thieves, she will be released from prison to serve as the champion of the king. The Crown Prince will provoke Celaena and the Captain of the Guard will protect her. However, there is some evil dwelling in the castle of glass and it is there to kill. When her competitors begin to die one after another, her fight for liberty turns into a fight for survival. It is a desperate journey to end the evil before it ends her whole life.

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

The survival of Feyre rests on her capability to kill and hunt. She lives in a forest which is a cold and bleak place in the months of the winter season. So, when Feyre sees a wolf trying to pursue a deer she cannot help but fight it for the flesh. However, to do so she needs to kill the predator, and killing any precious thing comes with a price. Feyre gets dragged to a magical realm for the murder of a faerie. She discovers that her captor’s face is obscured by a jeweled mask and he is concealing a lot more than his green eyes. Feyre’s presence in the kingdom is closely guarded as she starts to get familiar with facts, and her feelings for him turn from hostility to passion. The faerie lands become even more lethal. She must fight to break an ancient curse or else she will lose him forever.

Also Read: Yuval Noah Harari’s Biography