首页 > 博客 > 娱乐 > 5年出道的2020位年轻作家
5 年首次亮相的前 2020 名年轻作家披萨女孩带我分开燃烧的公墓男孩如果我有你的脸

5年出道的2020位年轻作家

2020 年是非凡的一年,充满了惊喜。 当每个人都在家里做某事或什么都不做时,许多作家首次亮相并写下了最令人惊叹的书籍,这些书籍发人深省,激动人心且大胆有趣。 以下是 5 年首次亮相的前 2020 名年轻作家:

5年出道的2020位年轻作家

  1. Megha Mujumdar 的《燃烧》
  2. Jean Kyoung Frazier 的 Pizza Girl
  3. 莎拉·斯利格(Sara Sligar)将我拆开
  4. 艾登托马斯的公墓男孩
  5. 如果我有你的脸 Frances Cha

Megha Mujumdar 在印度加尔各答出生和长大。 她移居美国,在哈佛大学学习。 她的处女作《燃烧》于 2 年 2020 月 XNUMX 日出版,是《纽约时报》的畅销书。 一本燃烧的书以当代印度为背景,讲述了三个令人难忘的角色——Jivan; 一个来自贫民窟的穆斯林女孩,她决心在自己的生活中取得进步。 PT先生; 谁是投机取巧的体育老师,有志于加入右翼政党和Lovely; 一个有荣耀梦想的活泼的流浪者。 这三个角色的生活在一场灾难之后纠缠在一起,因为 Jivan 因在 Facebook 上的粗心评论而被指控对火车实施恐怖袭击。 评论家将穆琼达尔的写作风格与亚嘉西和琼巴拉希里的写作风格进行了比较。 这本书告诉读者,在一个狂热的理想和观念滋生的国家,面对重重障碍却又怀揣远大梦想是什么感觉。 燃烧也是玛格丽特阿特伍德的检疫读物之一!

Jean Kyoung 是一位住在洛杉矶的作家。 她的处女作《披萨女孩》于 9 年 2020 月 2020 日出版。该书被《嘉人》杂志和《Teen Vogue》杂志评为年度最佳图书。 它还入选了 Vogue、Harper's Bazaar、Elle、Time、People、Buzzfeed、Bustle 等 18 年最受瞩目的书籍。《披萨女孩》讲述了一个 12 岁怀孕披萨的成长故事对其中一位顾客着迷的送货女孩。 故事由一位来自洛杉矶郊区的无名可爱但功能失调的比萨饼送货女孩讲述,她怀孕 XNUMX 周并且被酗酒的父亲的死所困扰。 她过着平淡无奇的生活,直到有一天被珍妮·豪瑟打断,珍妮·豪瑟是一位全职妈妈,每周三都会点一份泡菜披萨。 随着故事的进展,两人建立了友谊; 当一个女人接近母亲和其他中年时。 也许是叙述者一生中第一次感到自己被需要。 但很快这种关系开始扭曲,友谊变成了一种危险的痴迷,伴随着鲁莽的行为和改变生活的选择。 披萨女郎因其无可否认的幽默和机智而受到赞誉,但更令人印象深刻的是,弗雷泽通过幽默探索了一个年轻女性的复杂性,她因童年创伤而残废,渴望更多但无法采取行动,以及这种痛苦如何能够跟随一个人到成年。

Sara Sligar 在南加州大学教授英语和创意写作。 她的处女作 Take Me Apart 是一部心理惊悚片,于 28 年 2020 月 XNUMX 日出版。该书获得了《娱乐周刊》、《今日美国》、《华盛顿邮报》、《华尔街日报》和《洛杉矶书评》的好评如潮,称其为一部多汁的惊悚片,引人入胜,阳光普照黑色。 这部引人入胜的小说讲述了一位年轻的编年史作家对她主题的离奇死亡的痴迷,因为它有可能破坏她的精神稳定。 Take Me Apart 将读者带入两个黑暗迷人的女人的生活。 著名摄影师米兰达·布兰德 (Miranda Brand) 在其职业生涯的巅峰时期离奇离世;凯特·艾特肯 (Kate Aitken) 是一名前记者,米兰达的儿子西奥 (Theo) 雇用她来存档他母亲的作品和个人物品。 他们的生活都被秘密和谎言所束缚。 莎拉·西尔加 (Sara Silgar) 引人入胜、曲折的心理悬疑故事是一种发人深省的艺术、疾病和力量,来自悬疑类型的新声音。

艾登·托马斯 (Aiden Thomas) 来自奥克兰“加利福尼亚”,是纽约时报畅销书作家。 作为一名酷儿、跨性别和拉丁裔,艾登强烈主张在所有媒体上都有代表性。 艾登的处女作《公墓男孩》于 1 年 2020 月 XNUMX 日出版。《公墓男孩》是一本年轻成人读物,《娱乐周刊》称其具有开创性。 这本书是关于跨性别男孩 Yadriel 的。 当他出柜时,他的传统拉丁家庭很难接受他的真实性别。 因此,Yadriel 决心向自己证明一个真正的 brujo(巫师)。 他的堂兄和他最亲密的同伴玛丽扎帮助他按照惯例去发现他被杀害的堂兄的鬼魂并释放他。 然而,他召唤的幽灵原来是学校的坏孩子朱利安迪亚兹,他还没有准备好安静地走向死亡。 他想查明发生在他身上的事,并在离开前解决一些未解决的问题。 Yadriel 别无选择,同意帮助 Julian,这样他们都能得到想要的东西。 但随着 Yadriel 与 Julian 相处的时间越长,他就越不想让他离开。

Frances Cha 曾任 CNN 驻首尔的旅游和文化记者。 她的作品出现在大西洋、V 杂志、WWD 和 The Believer 以及许多不同的出版物上。 她的处女作《如果我有你的脸》于 21 年 2020 月 XNUMX 日出版。这部引人入胜的处女作以当代韩国首尔为背景,讲述了四位年轻女性的故事。 Kyuri 是一个美丽的女人,她在一家高级地下酒吧找到了一份来之不易的工作,她在那里招待商人喝酒。 Kyuri 的室友 Miho; 是在孤儿院长大的天才艺术家。 阿拉; 是一位发型师,住在他们大楼的大厅里。 想; 住在楼下一层的新婚夫妇正准备要孩子。 如果我有你的脸讲述了他们的故事,这个故事看似不同寻常,但在某种程度上却具有明显的普遍性,即他们无限期的友谊最终证明是拯救他们的东西。 它被 Time、Esquire、Bustle、BBC、New York Post 和 InStyle 杂志评为年度最佳书籍之一。

沙什谢卡尔

从 IMS Ghaziabad 完成我的 PGDM,专门从事(市场营销和人力资源)“我真的相信持续学习是成功的关键,因为我不断增加我的技能和知识。”

更多阅读

文章导航

2条评论

评论被关闭。

This Close to Okay : By – Leesa Cross-Smith 是如此发人深省和情绪化

10 年 2022 月发行的 XNUMX 部最受期待的书籍

受神话启发的哈利波特角色

漫威宇宙中十大最英雄机器人
漫威宇宙中十大最英雄机器人 10 年 2024 月最受期待的 XNUMX 本处女作 10 个最佳娱乐数字订阅 X战警漫画中使用的十大最强大武器

The year 2020 was exceptional and loaded with surprises. While everyone was at home doing something or nothing many writers made their debut and wrote most amazing books that are thought provoking,  thrilling and audaciously funny. Here are top 5 young writers that made their debut in 2020:

Top 5 young writers that made their debut in 2020

  1. A Burning by Megha Mujumdar
  2. Pizza Girl by Jean Kyoung Frazier
  3. Take Me Apart by Sara Sligar
  4. Cemetery Boys by Aiden Thomas
  5. If I had Your Face by Frances Cha

Megha Mujumdar was born and raised in Kolkata, India. She moved to the United States of America to study at Harvard University. Her debut novel A Burning, which was published on 2 June 2020, was a New York Times bestseller. A Burning book is based in the contemporary India and is about three unforgettable characters – Jivan; A Muslim girl from the slums who is determined to move up in her life. A PT sir; who is an opportunistic gym teacher who has aspirations of joining a right wing political party and Lovely; a buoyant outcast who has dreams of glory. The lives of these three characters get entangled in the wake of a catastrophe when Jivan is accused of executing a terrorist attack on a train because of a careless comment on Facebook. Critics have compared Mujumdar’s writing style to that of Yaa Gyasi and Jhumpa Lahiri. The book tells readers what it feels like to be faced with profound obstacles and yet have big dreams in a country that is nurturing fanatical ideals and notions. A Burning was also one of Margaret Atwood’s quarantine reads!

Jean Kyoung is a writer living in Los Angeles. Her debut novel Pizza Girl was published on 9 June 2020. The book was named best book of the year by magazines Marie Claire and Teen Vogue. It was additionally in the rundown of most foreseen books of 2020 by Vogue, Harper’s Bazaar, Elle, Time, People, Buzzfeed, Bustle and many more.. The Pizza Girl is a coming-of-age story of an 18 year old pregnant pizza delivery girl who becomes obsessed with one of the customers. The story is narrated by an unnamed delightful but dysfunctional pizza delivery girl from suburban Los Angeles who is 12 weeks pregnant and is haunted by her alcoholic father’s death. She lives a routinely mundane life until one day it is interrupted by Jenny Hauser, a stay at home mother who orders pizza with pickles on it every Wednesday. As the story progresses two form a friendship; as one woman approaches motherhood and other middle age. Perhaps for the first time in the narrator’s life she feels she is needed. But soon this relationship starts to distort and the friendship transforms into a dangerous obsession equipped with reckless behavior and life altering choices. Pizza Girl has been praised for its undeniable humor and wit, but what is more impressive is that Frazier through humor explores complexities of a young woman who is crippled by childhood trauma, longing for something more but is unable to take action and how this suffering can follow a person in adulthood.

Sara Sligar teaches English and creative writing at the University of Southern California. Her debut book Take Me Apart a psychological thriller was published on 28 April 2020. The book has received rave reviews from Entertainment Weekly, USA Today, Washington Post, Wall Street Journal and LA Review of Books calling it a juicy thriller, absorbing and sun soaked noir. This captivating novel follows a youthful annalist’s obsession with her subject’s strange death as it threatens to destroy her mental stability. Take Me Apart draws readers into the lives of two darkly alluring women. Miranda Brand a famed photographer who dies mysteriously at the height of her career and Kate Aitken an ex-journalist who is hired by Miranda’s son Theo to archive his mother’s work and personal effects. Both their lives are restrained by secrets and lies. Sara Silgar’s seductive, twisting tale of psychological suspense is a thought provoking take on art, illness and power from a new voice in suspense genre.

Aiden Thomas is  from Oakland “California” and a New York Times Bestselling Author. As a queer, Trans and Latin, Aiden advocates strongly for representation on all media. Aiden’s debut book Cemetery Boys was published on 1 September 2020. Cemetery Boys is a young adult book which Entertainment Weekly described as groundbreaking. The book is about Yadriel a Trans boy. When he comes out his traditional Latin family has problems accepting his true gender. Because of this Yadriel becomes determined to prove to himself a real brujo (wizard). His cousin and his closest companion Maritza assist him with playing out a custom to discover the ghost of his killed cousin and set him free. However the ghost he summons turns out be Julian Diaz who is school’s bad boy and he is not yet ready to go quietly into death. He wants to discover what happened to him and tie off some loose ends before he leaves. With no other choice Yadriel agrees to help Julian, so that they both can get what they want. But as Yadriel spends longer time with Julian, the less he wants to let him leave.

Frances Cha is a previous travel and culture journalist for CNN in Seoul. Her writing has showed up in The Atlantic, V Magazine, WWD and The Believer and many different publications. Her debut novel If I Had Your Face was  published on 21 April 2020. The spellbinding debut novel is set in contemporary Seoul, Korea and is about four young women. Kyuri is a beautiful woman who has hard-won job at an exclusive underground bar where she entertains businessmen while they drink. Kyuri’s roommate, Miho; is a talented artist who grew up in an orphanage. Ara; is a hairstylist who lives down the hall in their building. Wonna; who lives one floor below is a newly-wed trying to have a baby. If I Had Your Face tells their story that is seemingly unusual yet it is distinctly universal in a way that their indefinite friendship turns out to be the thing that ultimately saves them. It was named one of the best books of the year by Time, Esquire, Bustle, BBC, New York Post and InStyle magazine.