Home > Hindu Mythology > 10 Heads of Ravana Teaches us Ten Things Not to Keep in Mind
10 Heads of Ravana Teaches us Ten Things Not to Keep in Mind

10 Heads of Ravana Teaches us Ten Things Not to Keep in Mind

Today we are going to talk about the 10 headed Lankan King ‘Ravana’. His father was a sage and his mother was a demon. The Lankan King had the qualities of both his parents. He was a big devotee of Lord Shiva. Ravana was a perfect mixture of power, strength, knowledge and wealth. It’s said that his kingdom was made of gold and had immense wealth. Ravana had almost conquered all the realms of the universe (with his power and might). The ten-headed King also had a boon of being immortal (with a tricky loophole). Ravana was immune to any weapon but his ego, pride and sins led to his downfall. Eventually he was killed by Lord Rama. In Hindu religion, Ravana is considered as the sign of evil and his 10 headed effigies are burnt every year during the ‘Dassehra’ festival. Which signifies the overcoming of demons and evil within you. Now let’s talk about what the 10 Heads of Ravana teaches us ten things not to keep in mind. So take a look at this list which tells what the 10 heads of Ravana signify.

Kama (Lust)

The first head signifies ‘Kama’. Lust can be listed as one of the biggest enemies of an individual. Most of the religious texts and mythologies have also depicted lust as a dangerous habit which can bring about anyone’s downfall. We have witnessed how people who are unable to overpower lust, lose everything. This is the reason that for ages we have been hearing about honey traps and how it’s used against politicians, diplomats and powerful people. A person’s lust can bring him down and overshadow all his good qualities. So, don’t get caught up in lust and overpower this dangerous trait.

Krodha (Anger)

Ravana’s second head signifies anger. It’s said that anger can destroy everything, even the good deeds of a person. Anger can also be utilized for motivation and doing productive work. However, it is mostly used for negative means. An individual’s anger does not only harm him but can destroy the lives of many directly on indirectly connected to him/her and cause destruction. Work done in anger often lead a person to destructive path.

10 Heads of Ravana Teaches us Ten Things Not to Keep in Mind
10 Heads of Ravana Teaches us Ten Things Not to Keep in Mind

Moha (Delusion)

‘Moha’ or delusion is something that can change our whole existence and personality. Sometimes we are too caught up in our own reality or bubble and forget about the actual reality of the world. We tend to believe in things that are in contradiction with reality. A delusional individual runs away from rationality and is too scared of reality checks. Anything can create delusion for a person be it family, friends, work, objects and even life. So, get out of the bubble and face reality before it’s too late.

Lobha (Greed)

The fourth head signifies ‘Lobha’ which means greed. Greed is an appetite which can never be satisfied. So when someone has a surge of greed, the person ends up in a state of unhappiness. Greed only brings dissatisfaction and unhappiness. There is big difference between need and greed. A person who develop greed for something often misunderstood his/her greed as need.

Mada (Pride)

Ravana’s fifth head signifies ‘Mada’ which means pride. Pride is not a bad thing. It is a sense of joy and pleasure which comes after achieving something. You must have pride if you have worked hard for something and established yourself. But as it is said that extremes of anything is harmful in nature. Pride is good when paired up with humility. When you’re not humble, your pride takes over and you lose your connection with reality. 

10 Heads of Ravana Teaches us Ten Things Not to Keep in Mind
10 Heads of Ravana Teaches us Ten Things Not to Keep in Mind

Maatsarya (Envy)

Next head signifies ‘Maatsarya’ which means envy. The emotion of envy makes a person crave for what others have. Always thinking about what others have and not seeing what you have in life, makes you a perfect candidate for this negative trait. An envious person will always be unhappy in life and let go of all the happiness while thinking about what others have.

Buddhi (Intellect)

Intellect is very important in life. But an intellect which can’t show you the right path and the difference between good & bad is of no use. So use your intellect in such a manner that it benefits you and become more aware about positive & negative deeds.

Manas (Mind)

‘Manas’ (a sanskrit word) has no exact word in the English language but can be closely associated with ‘mind’. It somewhat signifies the part of our consciousness which makes us different from animals. So it can be termed as one of the most important things in shaping one’s personality trait and character. 

10 Heads of Ravana Teaches us Ten Things Not to Keep in Mind
10 Heads of Ravana Teaches us Ten Things Not to Keep in Mind

Chitta (Will)

‘Chitta’ which somewhat means ‘will’. It is one of the most important traits required for success. A strong will power can transform one’s life. But if you lose your ‘will’, you will lose your battles against the demons inside you. So always have a strong ‘will’, focused in the right direction. 

Ahamkara (Ego)

The Tenth head of Ravana signifies ‘Ahamkara’ which means ‘ego’. It is a person’s self esteem or importance. But at times this ego grows too much and takes over everything. A person with too much ego attributes himself as the center of the world and believes that his importance is supreme. Ego may lead to things like selfishness, arrogance and dehumanization. 

Also Read: Ten Types of Psychic Abilities

Soham Singh

Writer/traveler & observer ~ Will is the way forward.....never stop experimenting & trying! Encyclopedia of Human Errors & Emotions

More Reading

Post navigation

Things School Does Not Teach You, But You should Learn

Giants in Greek Mythology: 5 Well Known Giants from Greek Mythology

Most Famous Negative Characters From Books

10 Image Comics Perfect For Sci-Fi Adaptations
10 Image Comics Perfect For Sci-Fi Adaptations Significance of Animals in Mythology Around the Globe 10 Most Visible Changes in Spiderman Over Time Movie Sequels and Prequels that Failed to Live Up to the Original Movies