首页 > 博客 > 神话 > 波塞冬 | 希腊海神 | 神话
波塞冬 | 希腊海神 | 神话

波塞冬 | 希腊海神 | 神话

在希腊神话中,波塞冬被认为是主要神灵之一。 他是海神(一般来说是水体)、地震和马。 他不同于希腊最古老的水神本都。 波塞冬的意思是“大地之主”。 他是克洛诺斯和瑞亚的儿子,克洛诺斯的妹妹和配偶。 克洛诺斯是十二泰坦中最年轻的,而瑞亚是生育女神。 波塞冬的武器是三叉戟。 读者可以在荷马的《伊利亚特》和《奥德赛》中读到很多关于波塞冬的内容。 这是对波塞冬的平庸介绍,现在让我们来了解一下关于海神的一些鲜为人知但引人入胜的事实。

波塞冬——古希腊的主要神灵

他是希腊历史名城的重要神灵之一。 在雅典,他的重要性仅次于雅典娜。 而在其他城市,如科林斯和大希腊的其他地区,他是最重要的神。 就连亚历山大大帝,在流行的伊苏斯战役之前,也曾在叙利亚海边暂停崇拜波塞冬。 他将一辆四马的战车抛入海中,献给他。

起源与家庭

波塞冬是后来希腊神话中宙斯和哈迪斯的兄弟,克洛诺斯和瑞亚的儿子。 他在泰坦、巨人和奥林匹亚诸神之间的冲突中发挥了重要作用。 胜利之后,三兄弟必须选择他们要统治的领域。 波塞冬被授予控制水域的权利。 这位神居住在华丽的金色房屋中,房屋装饰着珊瑚和淹没在海洋中的海花。

波塞冬的妻子 Nereid Amphitrite 在他们求爱期间偶尔会遇到挑战,曾经逃到阿特拉斯山脉。 对海神来说幸运的是,海豚德尔菲努斯说服安菲特里特回来并与波塞冬结婚。

波塞冬 | 希腊海神 | 神话
波塞冬 | 希腊海神 | 神话

Amphitrite 和 Poseidon 的儿子 Triton(半鱼半人)是他最著名的后代。 Rhode 和 Benthesicyme 是另外两个孩子。 然而,波塞冬与其他女人生了很多其他孩子,就像其他神一样。 忒修斯(与艾斯拉)、独眼巨人波吕斐摩斯(奥德修斯在特洛伊战争结束的漫长归途中与他相遇而闻名)、猎人猎户座(与米诺斯的女儿)、飞马座(被美杜莎强奸后)、野马阿里翁和Charybdis(与 Gaia)是造成可怕漩涡的食船海怪,是其中最著名的。

臭名昭著的出生

波塞冬的父亲克洛诺斯推翻了父亲乌拉诺斯,与妻子瑞亚一起统治了世界。 他被告知历史会重演,他的一个孩子会推翻他。 因为这个原因,他一出生就吞下了自己的孩子。 瑞亚得以保护她的第六个孩子宙斯。 当宙斯成年时,他让克洛诺斯吐出他的兄弟姐妹:他的兄弟哈迪斯和波塞冬; 和他的姐妹赫拉、得墨忒尔和赫斯提亚。 波塞冬和他的兄弟姐妹在泰坦之战中与克洛诺斯和其他泰坦作战。 得胜兄弟共享天下,宙斯得到天堂成为统治者,哈迪斯成为冥界之神,波塞冬成为海洋之王。

马神

波塞冬 | 希腊海神 | 神话
希腊海神 | 神话

古希腊人将马与波塞冬联系在一起,因为他被认为创造了第一匹已知的马并将其作为礼物送给人类。 人们还认为他向人类介绍了战车比赛和骑马的技能。 有些神话称他为驯马师,有些则把他描绘成他们的父亲。 根据后者的说法,波塞冬与生下第一匹马的人交配。 他养了几匹马,其中最著名的一匹是飞马。 飞马座因波塞冬与美杜莎的性出轨而诞生。 由于这些原因,他被称为 Poseidon Hippios。

波塞冬的武器

波塞冬的主要或象征三叉戟就像他的兄弟姐妹宙斯和哈迪斯一样,由三位独眼巨人长者为他精心打造。 在神话中,他用武器敲击地面,形成一口海水; 他还用它来劈开岩石来生产泉水等等。 在 Gigantomachy,众神与巨人之间的战争中,他用它杀死了 Polybotes。 在现代,波塞冬的三叉戟在希腊海军的印章、巴巴多斯的旗帜和美国海军海豹突击队的特种作战徽章上得以保留。 它也是美国驱逐舰约翰·麦凯恩号的徽章和利物浦市议会的徽章。

波塞冬与女人

波塞冬经常会发现他的爱被拒绝,然后将他的统治权归功于狡猾和暴力的女人。 资料来源可以数出波塞冬与凡人、女神和若虫的多达 30 种关系。 他的主要关系是与他的妻子 Amphitrite、Tyro、Alope、Gaia、Amymone、Medusa 和 Caeneus。 他与他们每个人都有一段迷人的历史。 除了女性,波塞冬还有男性情人——珀罗普斯、尼瑞忒斯和帕特罗克洛斯。

波塞冬 | 希腊海神 | 神话
波塞冬 | 希腊海神 | 神话

作为父亲的波塞冬

由于波塞冬与女人多次出轨,他成为了许多孩子的父亲。 有几位女性已经死去,但她们中的大多数仍然不为人知。 最著名的孩子包括他与海上使者 Amphitrite 的儿子 Triton; 他和一个名叫 Cleito 的人类的儿子,名叫 Atlas; 他与仙女图萨 (Thoosa) 的儿子波吕斐摩斯 (Polyphemus); Aiolos,Arne 的儿子; 俄里翁,他与欧律阿勒的儿子; Lex,他与利比亚的儿子; 飞马,他与美杜莎的后代; 和阿里昂,一匹不朽的马,他与得墨忒尔的后代。

文学、艺术和电影

除了《伊利亚特》和《奥德赛》,波塞冬还出现在其他几部作品中,包括奥维德的巨著《变形记》、品达的《奥林匹亚颂歌》和欧里庇得斯的《俄瑞斯忒斯》。 在包括布里斯托尔、普雷索夫、哥本哈根和哥德堡在内的许多地方都可以看到波塞冬的艺术雕像。 在现代文化中,波塞冬被描绘成里克·赖尔丹 (Rick Riordan) 创作的流行奇幻小说主人公珀西·杰克逊 (Percy Jackson) 的父亲。 他还出演了 1989 年的迪士尼故事片《小美人鱼》,饰演恶毒的海女巫厄休拉的父亲。

另请参阅: 10 个简单但有效的皮克斯讲故事指南

更多阅读

文章导航

10 年 2024 月最受期待的 XNUMX 本书

In Greek mythology, Poseidon is considered as one of the major deities. He was the god of the sea (water bodies in general), earthquakes, and horses. He is different from Pontus, the oldest Greek divinity of waters. The meaning of Poseidon is “lord of the earth”. He was the son of Cronus and Rhea, Cronus’s sister and consort. Cronus was the youngest of the twelve Titans and Rhea was the goddess of fertility. Poseidon’s weapon was the trident. The readers get to read a lot about Poseidon in Homer’s Iliad and Odyssey. This is the banal introduction of Poseidon, now let’s read about some of the lesser known and fascinating facts about the sea god.

Poseidon – Leading Deities in Ancient Greece

He was one of the significant deities in the historic cities of Greece. In Athens, his significance was second after Athena. While in other cities such as Corinth and other regions of Great Greece, he was the most important god. Even Alexander the Great, took a hiatus at the Syrian seashore before the popular Battle of Issus, to worship Poseidon. He offered him a four-horse chariot by throwing it into the waves.

Origins & Family

Poseidon was the brother of Zeus and Hades in later Greek mythology and the son of Kronos and Rhea. He played a significant role in the conflicts between the Titans, Giants, and Olympians. Following their triumph, the three brothers got to choose which realm they would rule over. Poseidon was awarded control of the waters. The god resided in opulent golden homes decorated with coral and sea flowers that were submerged in the ocean.

The Nereid Amphitrite, Poseidon’s wife, had occasionally been a challenge during their courtship and had once run away to the Atlas Mountains. Fortunately for the sea deity, Delphinus the dolphin convinced Amphitrite to come back and wed Poseidon.

Poseidon | Greek God of the Sea | Mythology
Poseidon | Greek God of the Sea | Mythology

Amphitrite and Poseidon’s son, Triton (half-fish and half-man), was his most well-known offspring. Rhode and Benthesicyme were the two other kids. However, Poseidon had a lot of other children with other women, just like the other gods. Theseus (with Aithra), Polyphemus the Cyclops (whom Odysseus famously met on his protracted journey home from the Trojan War), Orion the Hunter (with Minos’ daughter), Pegasus (after being raped by Medusa), the wild horse Arion, and Charybdis (with Gaia), the ship-eating sea monster that caused terrible whirlpools, are among the most notable.

Infamous Birth

Cronus, the father of Poseidon, overthrew his father Uranus, and governed the world with his wife Rhea. He was told that history will repeat itself and one of his children will overthrow him. Because of this reason, he swallowed his children at birth. Rhea was able to protect her sixth child Zeus. When Zeus came of age he made Cronus disgorge his siblings: his brothers Hades and Poseidon; and his sisters Hera, Demeter, and Hestia. Poseidon along with his siblings fought against Cronus and other Titans in the battle of Titanomachy. After winning the brothers shared the world, Zeus received heaven and became the ruler, Hades became the god of the underworld, and Poseidon became the lord of the seas.

God of Horses

Poseidon | Greek God of the Sea | Mythology
Greek God of the Sea | Mythology

The ancient Greeks associated horses with Poseidon as he was believed to have created the first known horse and given it to humans as a gift. He is also believed to have introduced humans to the skills of chariot racing and riding. Some myths addressed him as the tamer of horses and some portrayed him as their father. According to the latter one, Poseidon mated with a being that gave birth to the first horse. He fathered several horses and the notable one among them is Pegasus. Pegasus was born because of Poseidon’s sexual escapade with Medusa. Because of these reasons he was known by the epithet Poseidon Hippios.

Poseidon’s Weapon

Poseidon’s major or symbol trident was crafted for him like his siblings Zeus and Hades by the three Elder Cyclopes. In mythology, he strikes the ground with his weapon to create a well of seawater; he also uses it to split rocks to produce springs and more. During the Gigantomachy, the war between the gods and the giants, he uses it to slay the Polybotes. In modern times, Poseidon’s trident survives on the Seal of the Greek Navy, the flag of Barbados, and the Special Warfare insignia of the U.S. Navy SEALs. It is also the badge of the American destroyer USS John S. McCain and the coat of arms of Liverpool City Council.

Poseidon and Women

Poseidon would frequently find his love rejected and would then asset his dominance on women with craftiness and violence. Sources can count up to 30 relationships that Poseidon had with mortals, goddesses, and nymphs. His major relationships were with his wife Amphitrite, Tyro, Alope, Gaia, Amymone, Medusa, and Caeneus. He had a fascinating history with each of them. Other than women, Poseidon also had male lovers – Pelops, Nerites, and Patroclus.

Poseidon | Greek God of the Sea | Mythology
Poseidon | Greek God of the Sea | Mythology

Poseidon as a Father

As a consequence of Poseidon’s numerous escapades with women, he became the father of many children. Several women were mortal and most of them remain unknown. The most well-known children include his son with sea-messenger Amphitrite, Triton; his son with a  human named Cleito named Atlas; his son with nymph Thoosa, Polyphemus; Aiolos, son with Arne; Orion, his son with Euryale; Lelex, his son with Libya; Pegasus, his offspring with Medusa; and Arion, an immortal horse, his offspring with Demeter.

Literature, Art, and Movies

Other than Iliad and Odyssey, Poseidon features in several other works including Ovid’s magnum opus Metamorphoses, Olympian Odes by Pindar, and Euripides’s Orestes. Art statues of Poseidon can be seen in many places including Bristol, Presov, Copenhagen, and Gothenburg. In modern cultures, Poseidon is portrayed as the father of the popular fantasy novel protagonist created by Rick Riordan, Percy Jackson. He was also featured in the 1989 Disney feature film The Little Mermaid, as the father of Ursula, a malicious sea witch.

Also Read: 10 Pixar Storytelling Pointers That Are Simple But Effective

1,594 Views

Please rate this post

0 / 5 Overall Rating: 0

Your page rank: