Home > Blog > Blog > 10 Best Mystery Novels of the Year 2023
10 Best Mystery Novels of the Year 2023

10 Best Mystery Novels of the Year 2023

Explore the thrilling world of mystery with the 10 Best Mystery Novels of the Year 2023. From pulse-pounding suspense to mind-bending plots, these gripping tales will keep you on the edge of your seat. Delve into intricately woven narratives, unmask enigmatic characters, and unravel compelling puzzles as you journey through the best mystery novels of the year. Get ready for an immersive adventure into the realms of crime, suspense, and intrigue.

All the Dangerous Things by Stacy Willingham

10 Best Mystery Novels of the Year 2023 - All the Dangerous Things by Stacy Willingham
10 Best Mystery Novels of the Year 2023 – All the Dangerous Things by Stacy Willingham

The mystery novel “All the Dangerous Things” follows Isabella Drake, a grieving mother whose son Mason was kidnapped. Struggling with insomnia and slipping between reality and delusions, she is determined to find him despite her husband moving on. Detective suspicions add to her ordeal.

A podcaster, Waylon, offers to investigate together. As Isabella uncovers hidden truths from her past and the sinister nature of her life, she realizes she holds the key to her son’s disappearance. Unexpected twists and an engaging narrative make this book a thrilling, unmissable read.

Ghost Tamer by Meredith R. Lyons

Ghost Tamer by Meredith R. Lyons
Ghost Tamer by Meredith R. Lyons

The novel Ghost Tamer introduces an intriguing supernatural realm, where the protagonist is unexpectedly thrown into a challenging situation. The main character faces a steep learning curve, navigating this unfamiliar world with courage and determination to adapt and survive.

After surviving a train crash, Raely gains the ability to see ghosts. Struggling with grief, she befriends a kind ghost, Casper. But when she becomes a target of a malevolent force, they team up to uncover why. The book mixes humor and sorrow brilliantly, offering a complex tale beyond just ghosts. It’s a must-read for its blend of tragedy, humor, and hope.

The Only One Left by Riley Sager

10 Best Mystery Novels of the Year 2023 - The Only One Left by Riley Sager
10 Best Mystery Novels of the Year 2023 – The Only One Left by Riley Sager

A mysterious gothic tale “The Only One Left” is set in 1983, featuring Kit, a caregiver aiding recluse Lenora accused of a historic family massacre. Lenora’s eerie mansion, Hope’s End, harbors chilling secrets.

Kit uncovers the past through Lenora’s written account while navigating present-day mysteries. Filled with twists, the story keeps you hooked till the gripping end, reminiscent of the mansion’s suspenseful atmosphere.

Children of the Sun by Beth Lewis

Children of the Sun by Beth Lewis
Children of the Sun by Beth Lewis

A gripping novel “Children of the Sun” is set in 1982 about a hidden community in the Adirondack Mountains led by a mysterious figure named Sol. They believe in unlocking a Golden Door to a new realm.

The book is full of suspense, painting vivid characters against an American backdrop. Beth Lewis weaves their noble dreams into a dangerous journey. It’s fast-paced, deep, and leaves a lasting impression. A unique, thrilling read perfect for fans of Stranger Things, offering a fresh and captivating story.

A Quiet Contagion by Jane Jesmond

10 Best Mystery Novels of the Year 2023 - A Quiet Contagion by Jane Jesmond
10 Best Mystery Novels of the Year 2023 – A Quiet Contagion by Jane Jesmond

In the novel ‘A Quiet Contagion,’ a catastrophe in 1957 Coventry and a 2017 death seem linked. Wilf’s granddaughter, a journalist, and his wife investigate, uncovering dangerous secrets.

The story unfolds in dual timelines, merging history with mystery and suspense. Well-researched and cleverly woven, it’s a thrilling medical mystery inspired by the Polio epidemic. With twists and building suspense, it’s a compelling read.

The Maid’s Diary by Loreth Anne White

The Maid's Diary by Loreth Anne White
The Maid’s Diary by Loreth Anne White

A novel by Loreth Anne White ”The Maid’s diary” tells the story of Kit Darling, a maid with a snooping habit, discovers secrets about her wealthy clients. Trauma from her past fuels her actions. As she delves deeper into her clients’ lives, danger escalates.

With multiple timelines, a revealing diary, wealthy couples, and cops, the story unfolds, exposing hidden truths. The homicide cops stand out among mostly unlikable characters. Everyone hides something, leading to a suspenseful tale where secrets turn deadly.

The Red House by Roz Watkins

10 Best Mystery Novels of the Year 2023 - The Red House by Roz Watkins
10 Best Mystery Novels of the Year 2023 – The Red House by Roz Watkins

The novel “The Red House” by Roz Watkins is a chilling thriller about the Flowers family. Two decades ago, Joseph killed his family, but only his sister Eve survived. Now, a computer game linked to the crime draws attention as the 20th anniversary approaches.

Set in a spooky marshland, the story unfolds through various perspectives, unraveling the truth behind the murders. With suspenseful twists, it keeps readers engaged, exploring the eerie atmosphere of the “Red House” and the quest to uncover the real killer. Overall, a gripping and surprising read that keeps you hooked till the end.

None of This Is True by Lisa Jewell

None of This Is True by Lisa Jewell
None of This Is True by Lisa Jewell

Lisa Jewell’s gripping thriller revolves around two women sharing the same birthday, their lives intertwining with sinister consequences. Alix, a successful podcaster seeking distraction from her troubled marriage, encounters Josie, a troubled woman with a haunting past.

As Josie shares her story, Alix is drawn in, but soon, strange events unfold, blurring reality. The tale builds tension and surprises, leading to a chilling crescendo. It’s a complex, haunting narrative filled with twists and eerie revelations, leaving a lasting impact. Jewell’s storytelling mastery shines through in this bone-chilling, unforgettable read.

The Drowning Woman by Robyn Harding

10 Best Mystery Novels of the Year 2023 - The Drowning Woman by Robyn Harding
10 Best Mystery Novels of the Year 2023 – The Drowning Woman by Robyn Harding

The book “Drowning Woman” talks of a thrilling story with surprising twists that keeps one hooked. Lee and Hazel, the main characters, face tough situations. Lee loses everything and ends up homeless after making bad choices, while Hazel is trapped in an abusive contract with a dangerous husband.

When they cross paths, they plan to escape together, but things get more dangerous. Lee’s struggles felt more relatable, but Hazel’s story is intense and keeps you guessing. The book carries a strong message about second chances despite some unanswered questions in the plot. Overall, it’s a gripping read highlighting resilience and girl power.

Identity by Nora Roberts

Identity by Nora Roberts
Identity by Nora Roberts

Nora Roberts spins a gripping tale in “Identity.” Morgan’s life takes a devastating turn when her home is robbed, her friend Nina is killed, and her identity is stolen. FBI agents step in as she rebuilds her life in Vermont, while the murderer fixates on her. Morgan, determined and resourceful, navigates through family ties and new relationships.

Characters like Luke and Miles add depth to the story. The murderer’s identity isn’t a mystery, but the tension lies in when they’ll strike again. The book blends suspense and romance, offering a well-crafted plot and real-life themes like family and identity theft. Though not as fast-paced, Roberts keeps readers engaged with a compelling narrative. It’s a captivating read perfect for romantic suspense fans.

Also Read: 10 Most Anticipated Mystery Novels in November 2023

More Reading

Post navigation

The Deeper Meaning Behind ‘Just Keep Swimming’ from Finding Nemo

10 Leadership Styles That Are Common

5 Books That Will Make You Appreciate Life

Spider-Man’s major strength can sometimes turn into a notable weakness
Spider-Man’s major strength can sometimes turn into a notable weakness Most powerful twins in comics worlds What Makes Social Media Addictive? – 10 Biggest Possible Reasons 10 Best Graphic Novels of February 2024