Les livres ont la capacité de toucher notre cœur comme le font les films. Très peu de livres restent avec nous, surtout en ce qui concerne la fiction contemporaine pour jeunes adultes. Voici une liste de 15 livres pour adolescents qui vous feront pleurer. Ces livres sont une histoire fictive, bien écrite et déchirante qui non seulement vous fera ressentir les émotions, mais qui ne vous laissera pas non plus partir une fois le livre terminé.

The Perks of Being Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

15 Teen Books that will Make You Cry - The Perks of Being Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky
15 livres pour adolescents qui vous feront pleurer - The Perks of Being Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

The Perks of Being Wallflower occupe une place particulière dans la fiction contemporaine pour jeunes adultes. C'est plus intime qu'un journal intime et plus proche du cœur. L'histoire parle de Charlie, une giroflée, et de son parcours au lycée, avec ses deux nouveaux meilleurs amis et le passé qui le traumatise. Sexe, drogue, musique, drame familial, cassettes mixtes, trouver la foi, et plus encore. Cette histoire de passage à l'âge adulte est l'une des meilleures histoires car elle traite avec brio de la santé mentale et de la réalité.

Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher

Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher
Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher

Clay Jensen revient de l'école et trouve un paquet avec son nom sur son porche. Il y a plusieurs cassettes enregistrées par son camarade de classe et écraser Hannah Baker qui s'est suicidée il y a deux semaines. Sa voix lui dit qu'elle avait treize raisons de se suicider, et Clay est l'une d'entre elles. S'il les écoute, il comprendra pourquoi. Ce qu'il découvre va changer toute sa vie.

Your Voice is All I Hear by Leah Scheier

15 Teen Books that will Make You Cry - Your Voice is All I Hear by Leah Scheier
15 livres pour adolescents qui vous feront pleurer - Your Voice is All I Hear by Leah Scheier

April ferait n'importe quoi pour garder Jonah en sécurité. Mais April est déchirée lorsque Jonah entre dans une sombre dépression en essayant d'échapper à son passé obsédant et traumatisant. April risque sa famille, ses amis, l'opportunité de fréquenter une prestigieuse école de musique et tout pour le protéger. Sera-t-elle capable de le protéger après tout ?

Impulse by Ellen Hopkins

Impulse by Ellen Hopkins
Impulse by Ellen Hopkins

Il y a trois vies différentes sur trois routes différentes mais vers la même destination - Aspen Spring. C'est un hôpital psychiatrique pour tous ceux qui ont tenté de se suicider. Vanessa est intelligente et jolie mais ses secrets tuent et dominent parfois son esprit. Conner semble avoir un parfait mais est étranglé par une vie difficile avec ses parents et lui-même. Tony trouve la paix dans les pilules après une enfance douloureuse. Peut-être qu'ils auront une vie meilleure avec l'aide les uns des autres.

Imagine Me Gone by Adam Haslett

15 Teen Books that will Make You Cry - Imagine Me Gone by Adam Haslett
15 livres pour adolescents qui vous feront pleurer - Imagine Me Gone by Adam Haslett

Imagine Me Gone est une histoire inoubliable d'amour et de foi. Lorsque John a été hospitalisé pour dépression, Margaret s'est retrouvée avec deux choix : s'éloigner de la relation ou rester. Elle a décidé de l'épouser. Maintenant, leur fils Michael, un fanatique de musique est un peu la tâche. Margaret et ses deux frères et sœurs Alec et Celia ont du mal à se soucier de l'existence précaire et troublée en développement de Michael. C'est une histoire de relations, de maternité, d'amour et de foi en l'autre.

Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock by Matthew Quick

Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock by Matthew Quick
Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock by Matthew Quick

C'est l'anniversaire de Leonard Peacock et le jour où il cache un pistolet P-38 dans son sac à dos. Aujourd'hui est le jour où il assassinera son ex-meilleur ami puis lui-même. Cependant, au début, il doit dire au revoir aux quatre seules personnes qui comptent pour lui : le voisin Walt, l'élève chrétien à la maison et son béguin Lauren, son camarade de classe Baback et Herr Silverman. En parlant à chacun d'eux, il révèle ses secrets au fur et à mesure que l'horloge tourne.

Girl in Pieces by Kathleen Glassgow

15 Teen Books that will Make You Cry - Girl in Pieces by Kathleen Glassgow
15 livres pour adolescents qui vous feront pleurer - Girl in Pieces by Kathleen Glassgow

Charlotte Davis est dispersée comme du verre brisé. À 17 ans, il a perdu plus de personnes que la plupart des gens au cours de leur vie. Elle a appris à oublier. Chaque nouvelle cicatrice la durcit. Elle n'a pas à penser à son père, à son meilleur ami qui est parti et à sa mère qui n'a rien à lui offrir. Cette histoire contemporaine parle d'automutilation, d'abus et de suicide.

The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Neslon

The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Neslon
The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Neslon

La vie de Lennie est perplexe après la mort subite de sa sœur Bailey. Elle se retrouve déchirée entre le petit ami de Bailey, le séduisant Toby, et le nouveau venu en ville, le génie musical Joe. Chacun d'eux offre à Lennie quelque chose dont elle a besoin. L'histoire raconte le voyage de Lennie à travers le chagrin, l'amour fou, les erreurs et les découvertes.

The Unlikely Hero of Room 13B by Teresa Toten

15 Teen Books that will Make You Cry - The Unlikely Hero of Room 13B by Teresa Toten
15 livres pour adolescents qui vous feront pleurer - The Unlikely Hero of Room 13B by Teresa Toten

Quand Adam rencontre Robyn dans une organisation de soutien pour les enfants aux prises avec le TOC, il est immédiatement attiré vers elle. Il est déterminé à la protéger à tout prix. Mais, à quatorze ans, aux prises avec des parents divorcés, des beaux-frères et des TOC, il est même difficile de penser à une autre personne. Comment une personne peut-elle avoir une relation normale dans cette situation suffocante, surtout quand sa mère a commencé à recevoir des lettres de menaces ?

They Both Die at the End by Adam Silvera

They Both Die at the End by Adam Silvera
They Both Die at the End by Adam Silvera

Dans ce livre, Silvera nous rappelle qu'il n'y a pas d'amour sans perte et départ éventuel. 5 septembre - un peu après minuit, Death-Cast appelle Rufus Emeterio et Mateo Torrez pour leur faire savoir qu'ils meurent aujourd'hui. Tous deux sont de parfaits inconnus, mais pour des raisons distinctes, ils recherchent de nouveaux amis pour leur dernier jour. Grâce à une application appelée The Last Friend, ils se retrouvent pour une dernière aventure pour vivre une vie en un jour, leur dernier jour.  

The Impossible Knife of Memory by Laurie Halse Anderson

15 Teen Books that will Make You Cry - The Impossible Knife of Memory by Laurie Halse Anderson
15 livres pour adolescents qui vous feront pleurer - The Impossible Knife of Memory by Laurie Halse Anderson

Andy a du mal à s'éloigner des pensées qui le torturent depuis son retour d'Irak. Pour cette raison, Hayley Kincain et son père Andy sont toujours sur la route. Ils ne restent jamais longtemps au même endroit. Maintenant, ils sont de retour dans leur propre Hayley a grandi, elle peut donc aller à l'école maintenant. Peut-être qu'après très longtemps, Hayley pourra avoir une vie normale. Elle va se mettre en couple avec Finn qui lui cache ses secrets. Cela aidera-t-il le SSPT d'Andy ou les médicaments le maîtriseront-ils comme un moyen d'échapper à ses pensées ?

When We Collided by Emery Lord

When We Collided by Emery Lord
When We Collided by Emery Lord

Ce livre donne un récit authentique d'une fille souffrant de trouble bipolaire et entrant dans une nouvelle relation. Vivi est une fille artistique et excentrique qui a des problèmes qu'elle préfère ignorer. Jonah est une personne attentionnée qui a perdu son père il y a quelques années et sa mère est en dépression. Il prend soin de sa famille en travaillant au restaurant que son père a ouvert. Jonah et Vivi ne s'attendaient pas à se rencontrer. Mais, un frémissement inattendu réécrirait leur avenir.

Love Letters to the Dead by Ava Dellaira

15 Teen Books that will Make You Cry - Love Letters to the Dead by Ava Dellaira
15 livres pour adolescents qui vous feront pleurer - Love Letters to the Dead by Ava Dellaira

Lorsqu'on lui a confié la tâche d'écrire sur une personne décédée, Laurel a choisi d'écrire sur Kurt Cobain qui était aimé par sa sœur May. Ils sont tous les deux morts jeunes. Très vite, Laurel a un cahier dans lequel elle écrit des lettres à des personnes comme Heath Ledger, Amelia Earhart, Amy Winehouse, etc. Elle ne les donne jamais à son professeur. Laurel écrit sur l'école, tomber amoureuse pour la première fois, de nouvelles amitiés, vivre avec sa famille en rupture, et plus encore. Et, oui, à propos des abus qu'elle a subis alors que May était censée s'occuper d'elle. Ce n'est qu'après avoir écrit qu'elle commence à mieux comprendre May et elle-même.

It’s Kind of a Funny Story by Ned Vizzini

It’s Kind of a Funny Story by Ned Vizzini
It’s Kind of a Funny Story by Ned Vizzini

Craig Gilner, un adolescent ambitieux de New York déterminé à réussir dans la vie. Pour ce faire, il doit entrer dans la bonne école et obtenir le bon emploi. Une fois que Craig entre à l'Executive Pre-Professional High School de Manhattan, la pression des études devient insupportable. Il arrête de dormir, de manger, jusqu'à ce qu'une nuit il ait failli se suicider. En raison de cet épisode suicidaire, il est admis dans un hôpital psychiatrique. Ses voisins à l'hôpital sont une fille qui s'est cicatrisée le visage avec des ciseaux, le président auto-élu Armelio et un accro au sexe transsexuel. Craig est enfin en mesure d'affronter les sources de sa situation et de son anxiété.

Playlist for the Dead by Michelle Falkoff

15 Teen Books that will Make You Cry - Playlist for the Dead by Michelle Falkoff
15 livres pour adolescents qui vous feront pleurer - Playlist for the Dead by Michelle Falkoff

Sam connaît certaines choses - une fête, une bagarre et le lendemain matin, son meilleur ami Hayden est décédé. Hayden lui a laissé une liste de lecture de chansons et une note disant qu'il s'est suicidé. Mais, Sam ne connaît pas la raison. Alors, pour comprendre ce qui s'est passé, il s'appuie sur leur mémoire et la playlist. Plus Sam écoute, plus il se rend compte qu'il ne connaissait pas Hayden aussi bien qu'il le pensait. Surtout, quand quelqu'un prétendant être Hayden commence à lui envoyer des textes cryptés et que de violentes attaques commencent contre les intimidateurs qui ont fait de la vie de Hayden un enfer. Pour entrer dans le cœur, il doit retirer les écouteurs et observer tout et tout le monde autour de lui.

A lire aussi : 10 plus grandes sociétés de production de films au monde

Books has the ability to touch our heart like movies do. Very few books stays with us, especially when it comes to contemporary young adult fiction. Here is a list of 15 teen books that will make you cry. These books are heart-breaking, well written, fictional story that will not only make you feel the emotions but also won’t let you go when the book is over.

The Perks of Being Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

15 Teen Books that will Make You Cry - The Perks of Being Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky
15 Teen Books that will Make You Cry – The Perks of Being Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

The Perks of Being Wallflower has a special place in contemporary young adult fiction. It is more intimate than a diary and closer to the heart. The story is about Charlie, a wallflower, and his journey in high school, with his two new best friends and the past that traumatizes him. Sex, drugs, music, family drama, mixed tapes, finding faith, and more. This coming-of-age story is one of the best stories as it deals with mental health and reality brilliantly.

Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher

Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher
Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher

Clay Jensen returns from school and finds a package with his name on his porch. There are several cassette tapes recorded by his classmate and crush Hannah Baker who committed suicide two weeks ago. Her voice tells him that she had thirteen reasons to kill herself, and Clay is one of them. If he listens to these, he will understand why. What he discovers, will change his entire life.

Your Voice is All I Hear by Leah Scheier

15 Teen Books that will Make You Cry - Your Voice is All I Hear by Leah Scheier
15 Teen Books that will Make You Cry – Your Voice is All I Hear by Leah Scheier

April would do anything to keep Jonah safe. But April is torn when Jonah gets into a dark depression while trying to escape his haunting and traumatizing past. April risks her family, friends, an opportunity to attend a prestigious music school, and everything to protect him. Will she be able to protect him after everything?

Impulse by Ellen Hopkins

Impulse by Ellen Hopkins
Impulse by Ellen Hopkins

There are three different lives on three different roads but to the same destination – Aspen Spring. It is a psychiatric hospital for all who attempted suicide. Vanessa is smart and pretty but her secrets kill and overpower her mind sometimes. Conner seems to have a perfect but is strangled by a difficult life with his parents and himself. Tony finds peace in pills after a painful childhood. Maybe they will have a better life with the help of each other.

Imagine Me Gone by Adam Haslett

15 Teen Books that will Make You Cry - Imagine Me Gone by Adam Haslett
15 Teen Books that will Make You Cry – Imagine Me Gone by Adam Haslett

Imagine Me Gone is an unforgettable tale of love and faith. When John gets hospitalized for depression, Margaret was left with two choices back away from the relationship or stay. She decided to marry him. Now their son Michael, a music fanatic is a bit of a task. Margaret and his two siblings Alec and Celia struggle to care about the developing precarious and troubled existence of Michael. It is a story of relationships, motherhood, love, and faith in each other.

Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock by Matthew Quick

Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock by Matthew Quick
Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock by Matthew Quick

It is Leonard Peacock’s birthday and the day when he conceals a P-38 pistol in his backpack. Today is the day he will murder his ex-best friend and then himself. However, at first, he must wish goodbye to the only four people who matter to him: next-door neighbor Walt, Christian homeschooler and his crush Lauren, his classmate Baback, and Herr Silverman. While speaking to each of them he reveals his secrets as the clock keeps moving.

Girl in Pieces by Kathleen Glassgow

15 Teen Books that will Make You Cry - Girl in Pieces by Kathleen Glassgow
15 Teen Books that will Make You Cry – Girl in Pieces by Kathleen Glassgow

Charlotte Davis is scattered like broken glass. At 17, he has lost more people than most people do in their lifetime. She has learned how to forget. Every new scar hardens her. She doesn’t have to think of her father, best friend who is gone, and mother who has nothing to offer her.  This contemporary story is about self-harm, abuse, and suicide.

The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Neslon

The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Neslon
The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Neslon

Lennie’s life is perplexed after the sudden death of her sister Bailey. She finds herself torn between Bailey’s boyfriend, seductive Toby, and the new boy in town, musical genius Joe. Each of them offers Lennie something she needs. The story is about Lennie’s journey through grief, mad love, mistakes, and discoveries.

The Unlikely Hero of Room 13B by Teresa Toten

15 Teen Books that will Make You Cry - The Unlikely Hero of Room 13B by Teresa Toten
15 Teen Books that will Make You Cry – The Unlikely Hero of Room 13B by Teresa Toten

When Adam meets Robyn at a support organization for kids coping with OCD, he is immediately drawn toward her. He is determined to protect her at all costs. But, as a fourteen-year-old, dealing with divorced parents, step-siblings and, OCD, it is hard to even think of another person. How can a person have a normal relationship in this suffocating situation, especially, when his mother has started to receive threatening letters?

They Both Die at the End by Adam Silvera

They Both Die at the End by Adam Silvera
They Both Die at the End by Adam Silvera

In this book, Silvera reminds us that there is no love without loss and eventual departure. September 5 – a little after midnight, Death-Cast calls Rufus Emeterio and Mateo Torrez to let them know that they are dying today. Both of them are total strangers but for distinct reasons, they are looking for new friends on their last day. Through an app called the Last Friend, they meet up for one last adventure to live a lifetime in one day, their last day.  

The Impossible Knife of Memory by Laurie Halse Anderson

15 Teen Books that will Make You Cry - The Impossible Knife of Memory by Laurie Halse Anderson
15 Teen Books that will Make You Cry – The Impossible Knife of Memory by Laurie Halse Anderson

Andy struggles to get away from the thoughts that have tortured him since his return from Iraq. For this reason, Hayley Kincain and her father Andy are always on the road. They never stay in one place for a long time. Now, they are back in their own Hayley grew up in, so she can attend school now. Perhaps, after a very long time, Hayley can have a normal life. She will get into a relationship with Finn who is concealing his secrets. Will this help Andy’s PTSD or drugs will overpower him as a way to escape his thoughts?

When We Collided by Emery Lord

When We Collided by Emery Lord
When We Collided by Emery Lord

This book gives an authentic account of a girl suffering from bipolar disorder and getting into a new relationship. Vivi is an artistic and eccentric girl who has problems that she would much rather ignore. Jonah is a caring person who lost his father a few years ago and his mum is in depression. He takes care of his family by working at the restaurant his father started. Jonah and Vivi both didn’t expect to meet each other. But, one unexpected simmer would rewrite their futures.

Love Letters to the Dead by Ava Dellaira

15 Teen Books that will Make You Cry - Love Letters to the Dead by Ava Dellaira
15 Teen Books that will Make You Cry – Love Letters to the Dead by Ava Dellaira

When given the assignment to write about a dead person, Laurel chose to write about Kurt Cobain who was loved by her sister May. They both died young. Very soon, Laurel has a notebook where she writes letters to people like Heath Ledger, Amelia Earhart, Amy Winehouse, and more. She never gives these to her teacher. Laurel writes about school, falling in love for the first time, new friendships, living with her rupturing family, and more. And, yes, about the abuse she suffered while May was supposed to look after her. Only after writing, she begins to understand May and herself better.

It’s Kind of a Funny Story by Ned Vizzini

It’s Kind of a Funny Story by Ned Vizzini
It’s Kind of a Funny Story by Ned Vizzini

Craig Gilner, an ambitious NYC teenager resolute to be successful in life. To do that he has to get into the right school and get the right job. Once Craig gets in Manhattan’s Executive Pre-Professional High School, the study pressure becomes unendurable. He stops sleeping, eating, until one night he almost killed himself. Due to this suicidal episode, he gets checked into a mental hospital. His neighbors in the hospital are a girl who scarred her face with a scissor, self-elected President Armelio, and a transsexual sex addict. Craig is finally able to confront the sources of his situation and anxiety.

Playlist for the Dead by Michelle Falkoff

15 Teen Books that will Make You Cry - Playlist for the Dead by Michelle Falkoff
15 Teen Books that will Make You Cry – Playlist for the Dead by Michelle Falkoff

Sam knows a few things – a party, a fight, and the next morning his best friend Hayden died. Hayden left him a playlist of songs and a note saying he committed suicide. But, Sam doesn’t know the reason. So, to figure out what happened, he relies on their memory and the playlist. The more Sam listens he realizes that he didn’t know Hayden as well as he thought. Especially, when someone claiming to be Hayden begins to send him cryptic texts and violent attacks begins on the bullies who made Hayden’s life hell. To get into the core, he needs to remove the earbuds and be observant of everything and everyone around him.

Also Read: 10 Biggest Movie Production Companies in the World