News and Reviews about Books, Comics, Novels and Authors | Educational Blog

Home > Blog > 10 Best Debut Authors Of March 2023
10 Best Debut Authors Of March 2023

10 Best Debut Authors Of March 2023

10 Best Debut Authors Of March 2023

The literary world is constantly evolving, and with each passing year, new voices emerge with fresh perspectives, unique stories, and captivating writing styles. As we enter the third month of 2023, we have witnessed the debut of several promising authors whose works have captivated readers and critics alike. From memoirs to fiction, these debut authors have made a remarkable impact with their first publications, leaving readers eager for more. In this article, we will take a closer look at the 10 best debut authors of March 2023, exploring their backgrounds, writing styles, and the stories they have shared with the world. Whether you’re a seasoned bookworm or simply looking for your next great read, you won’t want to miss these talented authors and their incredible works.

Jessa Maxwell – The Golden Spoon

10 Best Debut Authors Of March 2023 - Jessa Maxwell - The Golden Spoon
10 Best Debut Authors Of March 2023 – Jessa Maxwell – The Golden Spoon

In this mesmerizing debut mystery novel, a killer is on the loose, and the setting is the tenth season of a hit TV baking competition. The body of a person is found dead on the set of the show, which takes place in the gothic estate of host and celebrity chef Betsy Martin. With everything ready for production, including the tent, top-quality ingredients, and the crew with their cameras, the six contestants compete to prove their culinary skills. However, as the competition gets underway, things start to go wrong. At first, it seems like sabotage, but when a body is discovered, everyone becomes a suspect. With unexpected twists and turns, The Golden Spoon is the perfect read for fans of Lucy Foley, Nita Prose, and Anthony Horowitz, and even for those who love to bake.

Catherine Bakewell – Flowerheart

Catherine Bakewell - Flowerheart
Catherine Bakewell – Flowerheart

For readers who enjoy the works of Margaret Rogerson and Tamora Pierce, this captivating YA debut is an enchanting cottagecore fantasy romance. The story follows a young girl named Clara, who possesses powerful yet uncontrollable magic. When her magic inadvertently harms her father, she must cast a complex spell to save his life, which requires exceptional control. The only person willing to help is her former best friend, Xavier, who has transformed from a meek boy into an enigmatic man. However, Xavier demands a steep price in return, and as Clara delves into his secrets, she discovers a dark force that only her magic can overcome. With an intriguing plot and compelling characters, this standalone novel will keep readers hooked until the very end.

Tara M. Stringfellow – Memphis

10 Best Debut Authors Of March 2023 - Tara M. Stringfellow - Memphis
10 Best Debut Authors Of March 2023 – Tara M. Stringfellow – Memphis

Joan, her mother, and sister flee their father’s violent outbursts and find refuge in her mother’s ancestral home in Memphis during the summer of 1995. However, family secrets and a history of violence haunt their lives, with Joan’s grandfather being lynched after becoming the first Black detective in the city. Joan turns to art, painting portraits of her community, and finding solace in her neighbor, Miss Dawn, who tells her stories of curses and the matrilineal tradition that she is a part of. Over seventy years, Memphis explores the complexities of inheritance through a range of voices, including brutality and justice, faith and forgiveness, sacrifice and love, and celebrates the continuation of life despite loss and anger.

Krystle Zara Appiah – Rootless

Krystle Zara Appiah - Rootless
Krystle Zara Appiah – Rootless

Sam is in a state of panic when he realizes that there’s £1,300 missing from his and his wife Efe’s shared bank account. However, when he tries to contact her, he discovers that she’s 5,000 miles away, leaving behind their toddler. Sam and Efe had met as teens, and their relationship had been a beacon of hope for Efe, who had just arrived in the UK from Ghana. Sam was stable, had an unwavering vision of their future, and was pursuing a law career. When they are faced with an unplanned pregnancy, they find themselves on opposing sides, and their differences lead Efe to disappear. Rootless is a poignant love story about motherhood, sacrifice, and the journey to rediscover what one ultimately wants.

Alice Winn – In Memoriam

10 Best Debut Authors Of March 2023 - Alice Winn - In Memoriam
10 Best Debut Authors Of March 2023 – Alice Winn – In Memoriam

In Memoriam is a stunning debut novel that tells the story of two young men who fall in love during the height of World War I. The violence of the front seems distant to Henry Gaunt, Sidney Ellwood, and their classmates, safe in their idyllic boarding school in the English countryside. But Gaunt, who is half German, battles an all-consuming infatuation with Ellwood, who reciprocates his feelings. When Gaunt’s family asks him to enlist to avoid anti-German prejudice, he agrees to leave, eager to escape his feelings for Ellwood. But to Gaunt’s dismay, Ellwood also enlists, and their classmates soon follow. As death looms over them, the two must confront their feelings in this epic tale of forbidden love and war’s devastating tragedies.

Cecile Pin – Wandering Souls

Cecile Pin - Wandering Souls
Cecile Pin – Wandering Souls

Wandering Souls is a dazzling debut novel that explores the lives of three Vietnamese siblings who flee to the UK as refugees after tragedy befalls their family. Anh, Thanh, and Minh settle in London, facing the challenges of poverty, discrimination, and the absence of their parents. The narrative follows their diverging paths as they grapple with survivor’s guilt and search for a sense of belonging in a country that views them with suspicion. The story is told through various voices, including those of lost family members, historical research, and an unnamed narrator’s notes. Wandering Souls is a powerful meditation on love, identity, and the resilience of the human spirit.

Vibhuti Jain – Our Best Intentions

10 Best Debut Authors Of March 2023 - Vibhuti Jain - Our Best Intentions
10 Best Debut Authors Of March 2023 – Vibhuti Jain – Our Best Intentions

In this gripping debut novel, immigrant father Babur “Bobby” Singh is determined to make it in America and provide a better life for his introverted daughter Angie. However, their lives are turned upside down when Angie discovers a classmate, Henry McCleary, stabbed on the football field. The police immediately suspect a runaway Black girl named Chiara Thompkins, but as the investigation progresses, it becomes clear that there are deep-seated issues of privilege and racial bias at play. Alternating between multiple perspectives, Our Best Intentions explores the bonds of family and community in the face of crisis, revealing how easily lives can unravel in the pursuit of success and protection. Perfect for fans of Everything I Never Told You and Ask Again, Yes, Vibhuti Jain’s debut is both a suspenseful drama and an intimate portrait of immigrant life in America.

Leigh McMullan Abramson – A Likely Story

Leigh McMullan Abramson - A Likely Story
Leigh McMullan Abramson – A Likely Story

In this impressive debut, Isabelle Manning, the only child of famous parents, discovers a web of family secrets that challenge everything she thought she knew about her parents, her privileged upbringing, and her own writing career. Isabelle’s mother, Claire, was a socialite hostess, while her father, Ward, was a bestselling author, but his glamorous commitments kept him away from his daughter. After Claire’s sudden death and numerous writing failures, Isabelle faces her upcoming thirty-fifth birthday with a sense of despair. As she delves into her family’s past, she finds shocking revelations that make her question everything she believed about her parents. A Likely Story is a captivating read that includes a book-within-a-book, raising questions about authorship and the reliability of personal narratives.

Justine Sullivan – He Said He Would Be Late

10 Best Debut Authors Of March 2023 - Justine Sullivan - He Said He Would Be Late
10 Best Debut Authors Of March 2023 – Justine Sullivan – He Said He Would Be Late

In this psychological debut, Liz Bennet is married to a wealthy and charming man named Arno. They have a daughter, Emma, and appear to be the perfect family. However, when Liz sees a text on Arno’s phone with kissy faces, she begins to worry and becomes obsessed with finding out the truth about his possible infidelity. Liz goes down a rabbit hole, uncovering layers of deceit and following every lead to discover whether her husband is cheating on her or not. But as she searches for answers, Liz realizes that not everything is as it seems, and the truth may come at a cost.

Jade Song – Chlorine

Jade Song - Chlorine
Jade Song – Chlorine

Chlorine is a debut novel that combines literary coming-of-age with a dark horror story. Ren Yu, a swimmer, dreams of becoming a mermaid, and aches to be in the water, away from society’s pressure on young women and their bodies. Her daily life revolves around the pool and her teammates are her only friends. Ren hopes to swim well enough to be scouted and earn a scholarship, pleasing her parents and coach. But Ren will do anything to make a life where she can be free and achieve her dream, no matter the pain, and no matter what anyone else thinks. Chlorine is a powerful, relevant novel that explores immigration, sapphic longing, and fierce, defiant becoming.

Also Read: 10 Books That Have Been Adapted Into Movies Multiple Times

More Reading

Post navigation

The Love Stories of Greek Mythology

Hulk’s Counterparts in DC Universe

Most Anticipated Books of February 2023

×
15 Bestselling Books Penned by Indian Authors You Can’t Miss
15 Bestselling Books Penned by Indian Authors You Can’t Miss 10 Best Books of Lewis Carroll What Happens When Superman Gets Angry 10 Best Indian Comics Superheroes