The age 9-12, is the age group when children go through physical, emotional and mental changes. This is a perfect age to get children interested in reading. Here are 10 Children’s Books For Age 9-12.

The Jungle Book

The Jungle book is a collection of stories by Rudyard Kipling. This Book is about Mowgli, an orphan boy raised by wolves, and Baloo the sleepy brown bear, Bagheera the cunning black panther, Kaa the python, and his other animal friends. They teach their “man-cub” Mowgli the ways of the jungle, and he gains the strength and wisdom he needs for his frightful fight with Shere Khan, the tiger who robbed him of his human family. The Jungle Book stories were first published in magazines in 1893-94. It is a magically told story about friendship and adventure. For sure this is one of the top choice as Children’s Books For Age 9-12.

Artemis Fowl

Artemis Fowl by Eoin Colfer is a series of eight fantasy novels. The first book of the series was  published in 2002. Artemis Fowl is the story twelve-year-old Artemis Fowl II who is a millionaire, a genius, and a criminal mastermind. One day when Artemis kidnaps a fairy, Captain Holly Short of the LEPrecon Unit, he does not have any idea about what is going to happen. These fairies are not the normal fairies from of bedtime stories, they are very dangerous. Artemis Fowl by Eoin Colfer has unexpected twists and turns, and it is an engrossing, remarkable adventure.

Peter Pan

Peter Pan by J. M. Barrie first premiered as a play in 1904 and later was published in the form of novel in 1911. The novel is about Peter Pan, a playful boy who refuses to grow up. This is an adventurous story and one among the top choices for Children’s Books For Age 9-12. One day Peter Pan flies into the Darling’s home looking for his shadow. There he befriends Wendy, John and Michael and teaches them to fly with the help of fairy dust. Wendy, John and Michael fly off to Neverland with Peter Pan and Tinker Bell. In Neverland they encounter the Red Indians, the Little Lost Boys, pirates and the wicked Captain Hook.

The Little Prince

The Little Prince is a novella by French aristocrat and writer Antoine de Saint-Exupéry. The novella first published in 1943, a year before the author’s death. On one level, the Little Prince is a story of a pilot who is stranded in the desert and wakes up one morning to see, standing before him, a small boy from another planet: The Little Prince and his intergalactic travel. On the other hand it is a thought-provoking fable of the human condition. The Little Prince is an enchanting story that teaches the secret of what is significant in life. The book is a tale of childhood innocence that appeals to both children and adults alike.

Children's Books For Age 9-12
children with book

The Lion, The Witch And The Wardrobe

The Lion, The Witch And The Wardrobe is a children fantasy novel by C. S Lewis. The book is part of the seven part novel series ‘The Chronicles of Narnia’. The book was published in October, 1950. The story is about a magical place of Narnia. The land beyond the wardrobe door, a secret place that is frozen in eternal winter. Lucy finds the secret of the wardrobe in the professor’s mysterious old house while playing hide-and-seek.

When she tells her brothers and sisters, at first they don’t believe her when she tells of her visit to the mysterious land of Narnia. But soon Edmund, then Peter and Susan step through the wardrobe themselves. In Narnia they find out that a country has been buried under the evil spell of the White Witch. They meet the Lion Aslan, and they realize they’ve been called for a great adventure and they bravely join the battle to free Narnia from the Witch’s evil spell.

The Adventures Of Tintin

The adventures Of Tintin is a series of 24 comics created by Georges Remi under the pen name Hergé. This was first published around 1929. The Adventures of Tintin follows Tintin, a reporter who travels the world with his faithful dog Snowy on various adventures. Other characters in the series include Captain Haddock, Professor Calculus, Thompson and Thompson, Chang Chong-Chen and many others.

Harry Potter and The Philosopher’s Stone

Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone is a fantasy novel by author J. K Rowling. It is the first book in the seven part Harry Potter novel series. The book was first published in 1997. The book is about Harry Potter, an ordinary boy who lives in a cupboard under the stairs at his Aunt Petunia and Uncle Vernon’s house. He is bullied by them and his spoilt cousin Dudley. One day an owl turns up with a letter addressed to Harry, telling him that he has been accepted into the Hogwarts School Of Wizardry and Witchcraft. The letter changes Harry Potter’s ordinary life. Harry Potter and The Philosopher’s Stone is a story of an unforgettable magical world, that makes you wish it was real.

The Secret Garden

The Secret Garden is a novel by author Frances Hodgson Burnett. The book was first published in 1911. The novel follows Mary Lennox, a spoilt and selfish young orphan English girl who returns to England from India. Mary is sent into the care of her uncle Archibald Craven to Misselthwaite Manor. The Manor is located in Yorkshire. When she arrives, she is rude and stubborn. One day when her uncle is away from home, Mary discovers a charming walled garden which is always kept locked. Soon she learns to tend the garden on the estate. As she brings the secret garden back to life with the help of her friends, Mary is transformed. The Secret Garden is a novel that appeals to both young and old. The novel is filled with mystery, spirituality and charming characters.


Wonder is a children’s novel by Raquel Jaramillo written under the pen name of R. J. Palacio. The book was first published in February, 2012. Wonder centers on August Pullman, who was born with a facial deformity. And it has prevented him from going to a mainstream school. But soon he is starts 5th grade at Beecher Prep, he wants nothing more than to be treated as an ordinary kid. However, his classmates can’t get past Auggie’s face. Wonder novel begins from Auggie’s point of view, but soon switches to include his classmates, his sister, her boyfriend, and others. Wonder is a story about one community’s struggle with empathy, compassion, and acceptance.

The Invention Of Hugo Cabret

The Invention Of Hugo Cabret is a historical fiction novel written and illustrated by Brian Selznick. The book was first published in January, 2007. The book is about Hugo, an orphan, clock keeper, and a thief, who lives in the walls of a busy Paris train station. His survival depends on secrets and anonymity. However, when he meets an eccentric, bookish girl and a bitter old man who runs a toy booth in the station, Hugo’s undercover life, and his most precious secret, are both put in jeopardy. Hugo’s dead father has left a cryptic drawing, a treasured notebook, a stolen key, a mechanical man, and a hidden message creating a fascinating mystery.

Also Read: Reading VS Listening: Which Is Better Books Or Audiobooks?